1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How to calculate vector angles and magnitude

1. Feb 12, 2012 #1
    Ok im a little stuck and really need some help as im pretty new with physics...im not sure if this question is really simple or if i need a little algebra to help find the answer.

Q : 10 units, 30 degrees counterclockwise from the positive side of the x-axis
    :25 units, 45 degrees clockwise from the negative side of the x-axis
    Find the resultant magnitude and the angle of the two vectors.

Does this make sense?

Any help or advice would be great, thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 12, 2012 #2

Delphi51

Homework Helper

Separate each vector into its x and y components; 10*cos(30) and 10*sin(30) for the first one. Add the components. Then sketch the components and find the combined vector magnitude using the pythagorean theorem and the angle using trigonometry.

4. Feb 12, 2012 #3
    wow thanks delphi51 but youre talking to someone who doesnt actually have a scientific calculator or knows how to do what you mention...thanks for the advice though, ill find a way.

5. Feb 12, 2012 #4
    ok i have 35.544 for the components then...im not sure

6. Feb 12, 2012 #5
    Sorry to jump in Delphi51... this way may be slightly longer but you get an appreciation for what is happening?

I usually convert the polar coordinates (10, 30 deg) into cartesian coordinates (x, y) by using a little trig (SOH CAH TOA)? You can then add these to get the resultant?

For example Sin θ = Opposite / Hypotenuese ... Cos θ = Adjacent / Hypotenuse ... is this ringing any bells yet?

7. Feb 12, 2012 #6

Delphi51

Homework Helper

It doesn't make sense to get "35.544 for the components".
    You need TWO components for the first vector and TWO components for the second.