Exploring Forced Non-Centroidal Rotation

• Thread starter diffusegrey
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Rotation
In summary: But what about the transition between the two (with the removal of the fixed axis)? I guess what I’m driving at is, how do you calculate the instantaneous net force required to rotate the entire object to the new rotational axis, in the time of the transition?"In summary, the conversation discusses the physics of forced, non-centroidal rotation and how conservation of angular momentum can be represented through the principle of least action. The participants also inquire about the net force and energy required to constrain a rotating object to a different rotational axis, and the torque needed to spin an off-center cylinder to a given speed. They also explore the relationship between the force required for the constraint
diffusegrey
Hello all. I'm a newer engineer in rotor dynamics trying to better understand some things, so perhaps someone can provide some insight...

First, I'm trying to better understand the physics of forced, non-centroidal rotation (for a spinning cylinder in particular). Non-centroidal rotation requires some kind of constraint on a object to hold it to a certain axis, or else the object would naturally tend to rotate about its center of mass. Can this natural tendency (aka conservation of angular momentum) be represented via the principal of least action? Or is there another simple quantitative way of representing this, other than just declaring it so?

And at the same time, could the same principal or technique then be used to calculate the net force or energy required to constrain such a rotating cylinder to some other rotational axis at some given speed? And also, to find the total torque required to spin the off-center cylinder up to a given speed (versus if the cylinder were rotating about its center of mass axis)?