1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How to find volt drop per ampere meter?

1. May 3, 2016 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

Determine the resistance of a conductor and the volt
    drop per ampere metre at 70°C for a 95 mm2 pvc/swa/pvc copper cable.
    The temperature coefficient of resistance is 0.004 per °C.

2. Relevant equations

R70 ( resistance at 70 degrees ) = R20 [ 1+( temperature coefficient of resistance of copper X's temperature difference ) ]

3. The attempt at a solution

Hi there folks!

I have the above question as part of work I'm doing on a course that I'm studying.

I've found what the resistance/meter is by using the following equation:

R70 ( resistance at 70 degrees ) = R20 [ 1+( temperature coefficient of resistance of copper X temperature difference ) ]

I was provided with a table which showed the resistance/meter for cables at 20 degrees.

My notes have in all examples given the volt drop per ampere per meter so I'm not 100% sure on how to obtain it myself. I'm thinking that this resistance is the same value as volt drop per ampere per meter as using ohms law V = I x's R and therefore 1 amp multiplied by R70 from above equation should give a volt drop per ampere per meter.

Is my thinking correct?

Any thoughts would be much appreciated!

Neil

2. jcsd
  3. May 3, 2016 #2

Simon Bridge

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

By Ohm's Law, R = V/I means that 1 Ohm = 1 Volt per Amphere.

4. May 3, 2016 #3
    Hi Simon,

Thanks for your reply!