Is the Fugacity Equation the Key to Proving Chemical Thermodynamics?

In summary, the conversation discusses the use of fundamental thermodynamic relations to find a relationship between the molar gibbs energy and fugacity for a pure liquid. The equation for fugacity is defined as g-g^o=RT ln (f/f^o), where g^o and f^o are the reference state values. By equating this with the fundamental thermodynamic relation dg=RT d(ln f), and substituting in the expression for \left(\frac{\partial g}{\partial P}\right)_T, a relationship between the molar gibbs energy and fugacity can be found.
danago
Gold Member
Hey. I am currently studying chemical thermodynamics and have reached the section on solution thermodynamics.

For a pure liquid:

[tex]
\left(\frac{\partial g}{\partial P}\right)_T=RT \left(\frac{\partial ln(f)}{\partial P}\right)_T
[/tex]

Where g is the molar gibbs energy
P is pressure
T is temperature
R is the ideal gas constant
f is the fugacity

My first thought was to make use of one of the fundamental thermodynamic relations:

[tex]dg = v dP - s dT \Rightarrow \left(\frac{\partial g}{\partial P}\right)_T=v[/tex]

Where v is the molar volume and s is the molar entropy.

Anybody have any suggestions for a next step? :smile:

Thanks in advance,
Dan.

Physics news on Phys.org
Ok, just as i posted this i had an idea.

Fugacity is defined by the equation:

[tex]
g-g^{o}=RT ln (\frac{f}{f^o})
[/tex]

Since the reference state is fixed (i.e. [tex]dg^o=df^o=0[/tex]):

[tex]
dg = RT d(ln f)
[/tex]

Equating this with dg from the fundamental thermodynamic relation i mentioned in the first post (with dT=0 since temperature is being held constant):

[tex]RT d(ln f) = v dP \Rightarrow \frac{d(ln f)}{dP}=\frac{v}{RT}[/tex]

Substituting in (from the first post)

[tex]
\left(\frac{\partial g}{\partial P}\right)_T=v
[/tex]

will give the required relationship.

Does that look right?

1. What is chemical thermodynamics proof?