Linear force generated by a piston of varying diameter & stroke

In summary, you are proposing a cannon or mortar that uses a propellant to throw a weight into the air. The height will be determined by the type of propellant, the length of the barrel and the aerodynamic shape of the projectile. Any piston would follow the projectile.
timclegg54
Hi, I'm not an engineer but I do dabble in working out solutions to engineering problems in the manufacturing environment. I am working on a project/idea at present and I need to be able to calculate the height that a single piston and cylinder, internally combusting, can project a 100kg weight into the air. The conrod would remain aligned with the pistons linear movement, just like a ram, in other words, the reciprocating motion of the piston would not be converted to rotation. I am guessing that the distance would vary on the efficiency of the combustion system but there must be a sort of average that I could use to work from. The 2 variables that I can imagine effecting this calculation are the piston diameter and the length of stroke,but I'm not an expert as I already stated. I'm sure that someone out there can get the ball rolling for me and once it is, I can ask more questions. Thanks for reading and if you do, participating.
Tim.

Engineering news on Phys.org
You are proposing a cannon or mortar. In short, the height will be determined by the type of propellant, the length of the barrel and the aerodynamic shape of the projectile. Any piston would follow the projectile.

Likes 1 person