1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Maclaurin series for f(x)= ((1-x^2)/(1+x^2))

1. Jan 15, 2014 #1
    Hi I'm studying for an upcoming exam and I have to find the Maclaurin series for f(x)= ((1-x^2)/(1+x^2))
    And I gotta admit i feel stuck.

I know i need to find the terms f(0) +f'(0) +f''(0)/2 etc.

Frist of all I can't find the first derivative f´(x) because my TI89 calculater comes up with a Dimension error.
    Sexond: As an alternative I really can't see which other known function/series i could use to substitute the function into.

Please help me out - I'd appreciate it a lot!

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 15, 2014 #2

Office_Shredder

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Are you not expected to be able to calculate the derivative of that function by hand? Because it's a simple application of the quotient rule.

As far as calculating the Maclaurin series, can you calculate the series for
    [tex] \frac{1}{1+x^2} ?[/tex]
    Because this is a good place to start.

4. Jan 15, 2014 #3
    Are you saying that you don't know how to determine the derivative of this function by hand? Have you learned how to take the derivative of a quotient?

5. Jan 15, 2014 #4
    #2 That is like the geometric series 1/(1-x) which is SUM(1*x^n)
    So the sereis for 1/(1+x^2) would be an alternating series and if you substitue x^2 the series would be:
    SUM(-1)^n*X^(n +1) Right'?

It's the top part of the fraction which confuses me :(

6. Jan 15, 2014 #5

Yes It's (f/g`= ((1-x^2)'(1+x^2) -(1+x^2)'(a-x^2))/(1+x^2)^2 But i doubt i'd have to do all that in my head and differentiate it multiple times like that in an exam situation? seems to take a long time.

7. Jan 15, 2014 #6

Office_Shredder

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member