Maclaurin series for f(x)= ((1-x^2)/(1+x^2))

Hi I'm studying for an upcoming exam and I have to find the Maclaurin series for f(x)= ((1-x^2)/(1+x^2))
And I gotta admit i feel stuck.

I know i need to find the terms f(0) +f'(0) +f''(0)/2 etc.

Frist of all I can't find the first derivative f´(x) because my TI89 calculater comes up with a Dimension error.
Sexond: As an alternative I really can't see which other known function/series i could use to substitute the function into.

Please help me out - I'd appreciate it a lot!

Answers and Replies

Office_Shredder
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Gold Member
Are you not expected to be able to calculate the derivative of that function by hand? Because it's a simple application of the quotient rule.

As far as calculating the Maclaurin series, can you calculate the series for
[tex] \frac{1}{1+x^2} ?[/tex]
Because this is a good place to start.

Hi I'm studying for an upcoming exam and I have to find the Maclaurin series for f(x)= ((1-x^2)/(1+x^2))
And I gotta admit i feel stuck.

I know i need to find the terms f(0) +f'(0) +f''(0)/2 etc.

Frist of all I can't find the first derivative f´(x) because my TI89 calculater comes up with a Dimension error.
Sexond: As an alternative I really can't see which other known function/series i could use to substitute the function into.

Please help me out - I'd appreciate it a lot!
Are you saying that you don't know how to determine the derivative of this function by hand? Have you learned how to take the derivative of a quotient?

#2 That is like the geometric series 1/(1-x) which is SUM(1*x^n)
So the sereis for 1/(1+x^2) would be an alternating series and if you substitue x^2 the series would be:
SUM(-1)^n*X^(n +1) Right'?

It's the top part of the fraction which confuses me :(

Are you saying that you don't know how to determine the derivative of this function by hand? Have you learned how to take the derivative of a quotient?