1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Need help in build a cylindrical arm robotfinal project

1. Mar 28, 2009 #1
    I am a student at ungku omar polytechnic.i want to ask someone that is good in engineering robot.i want to know how to make the cylindrical robot,do i have to used ball screw or belting as an actuator.I want to a build a small robot only about 550mm long and 650 mm hight.It can pull load of about 2 kg or 1 kg.Can i know also how the connection and what microcontroller that i have to used to make it function.I also want to ask what motor that is suitable for the making of this such robot.the axample is like the robot built at st robotics types r 19.I also want to know what types of body do we need to used.We plan to used fiber or aluminium or titanium.But can you suggest , what is good from this three types of body part.
    I also want to know what types of gripper is more easy and cheap to be used in this kind of robot.

Is is cylindrical arm robot for studies only.

This is my group final project and we need help.

We hope to get result or support from other that kind.

The part we need is part that cheap for student used.

thanks.

hope to hear soon.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 28, 2009 #2
    everything you asked entirely depends upon the application to which the robot will be put. Motor has to be just powerful to power whatever needs to be powered. For example, 1-2 kg mass is to be pulled, in what direction? horizontal? vertical? calculate the power required. Regarding actuator, think of what you need, high reduction? accuracy? (cost?..)

4. Mar 30, 2009 #3