Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Non 1:1 Ratio in Acid-Base Neutralization

1. Feb 19, 2005 #1
    Hi all,

I'm pretty new to chemistry. Currently we're working on simply acid-base neutralizations, and I have a question. What happens when the ratio of hydroxides in the base to that of hydogens in the acid is >1. For instance, how would one predict the products of the following reaction:
    [tex]HCl + Ca(OH)_2 \longrightarrow ?[/tex]

I'm not really sure what the products would be (though I'm almost certain one would have to be water). I know how to do the reverse (when ratio hydrogen:hydroxide >1), but not the other way around. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 19, 2005 #2

dextercioby

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

What is the general rule of acid-base neutralization???What are the products of reaction...?

Daniel.

4. Feb 19, 2005 #3

GCT

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

acid base neutralizations involve the formation of water and the corresponding salt. The salt is calcium chloride. You know the products, now simply balance.

5. Feb 19, 2005 #4

dextercioby

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

It would have been nicer,if he/she used his/her 'processor' to come to the right conclusions...

Daniel.

6. Feb 20, 2005 #5
    But is that really all? My teacher had told us that for every hydrogen, a hydroxide is picked off. Thus, if the ratio is not 1:1, the reaction won't go to completion, and something other than a salt will be formed. Why is this not so then?

To give an example, she gave us the following reactants:
    [tex]2H_3PO_4 + Ca(OH)_2[/tex]