1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Nuclear engineering

1. Jul 16, 2010 #1
    Hi,

As I've posted in a few other topics I'm choosing my masters for next year. I'm choosing between nuclear physics and biophysics.

What are the chances of finding a PhD or job in nuclear engineering with a nuclear physics degree? Have any of you done so?

Kind regards

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 18, 2010 #2
    *Bump*

4. Jul 19, 2010 #3
    I'm an undergrad nuclear engineering student and I can say that the job prospects for me are good. However I've talked to my advisor before and he told me that people with PhDs in physic have come to the department to get a nuclear engineering degree because they where unable to find a job.

5. Jul 23, 2010 #4
    If I do a master in nuclear physics, I can get a master-after-master in nuclear engineering in one year. Will I have any benefit of this? I will have a master in nuclear engineering but I won't be a real engineer, because of my limited engineering background...

http://onderwijsaanbod.kuleuven.be/opleidingen/e/SC_51016778.htm

6. Jul 23, 2010 #5
    I think you're suppose to take the prereqs for the masters program in Nuclear Engineering before you can take the masters level courses.

7. Jul 25, 2010 #6
    Yes, but in 30credits you can't change a physicist into an engineer... The admission requirements say 25 to 30 credits.

8. Jun 24, 2011 #7
    The programdirector isn't responding to my e-mails and after my exams I plan to go to his office. But for the moment do any of you have an idea what might be typical courses that might come up in those 30 credits? My first thought is systemtheory, Control theory, material science, ...