PC Characteristics: Simulation FEM professional purpose

In summary: RAM, graphics cards, and processors are all important factors, but you must also think about storage. How much space will you need for your data, and what type of storage will you need?In summary, a PC that is designed for serious professional simulation will require at least 32 GB of RAM and an Intel Xeon processor. It is also a good idea to spend money on graphics cards and storage.
Darion13
Dear all,
I'm an electric engineer, and I usually work with software as Ansoft Maxwell, Matlab, Ansys, COMSOL...
I need a PC for serious professional simulation, and I would like if someone can give me some tips of the characteristics I should ask for this purpose.

I don't want to spend more money than the necesary, though money it's not a problem if it's needed.

I've heard about 32 GB RAM or more and Intel Xeon processor stuff, I would like to hear your opinion.

Thank's everyone!

Computer science news on Phys.org
Well, simulation of what exactly and what's the biggest, most detailed simulation you plan on?

For example, analyzing a complex structure like a bridge may take less computer power than doing a small hydrodynamic or aerodynamic simulation over a certain time period. The equations of fluid dynamics are a lot more complicated to solve than most structural equations.

Likes Darion13
It depends also on whether the simulation is entirely a mathematical project or whether you want to indulge in graphics.
If you do want graphics you'll probably want high end stuff and that doesn't come cheap.

Likes Darion13
Mainly for complex electromagnetic and motor design.

Now I'm working in 2D, but I'll need 3D soon for sure.

Maybe some graphics, though the main aim is not to do much renders.

Thanks for the quick response

Hello everyone,