Polarizability: Understanding its Effects on Intermolecular Forces in Chemistry

• Thread starter Ritzycat
  • Start date
In summary: The higher the polarizability, the stronger the intermolecular forces between molecules. This is because the more easily the charge distribution can be distorted, the stronger the attraction between molecules.
Ritzycat
Not really homework help - I'm studying for a chemistry test on chemical bonding, and I need some answers!

What exactly is the polarizability of a molecule? Can someone explain it to me in more simpler terms? My book is using arcane language that I can't really understand it. What is polarizability's effects on the intermolecular forces between molecules?

My book says "The strength of the dispersion force depends on the ease of which the charge distribution in a molecule can be distorted to induce an instantaneous dipole. The ease with which a charge distribution is distorted is called the molecule's polarizability."

I'm having trouble understand what that sentence is saying

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
Ritzycat said:
Not really homework help - I'm studying for a chemistry test on chemical bonding, and I need some answers!

What exactly is the polarizability of a molecule? Can someone explain it to me in more simpler terms? My book is using arcane language that I can't really understand it. What is polarizability's effects on the intermolecular forces between molecules?

My book says "The strength of the dispersion force depends on the ease of which the charge distribution in a molecule can be distorted to induce an instantaneous dipole. The ease with which a charge distribution is distorted is called the molecule's polarizability."

I'm having trouble understand what that sentence is saying

Any help is greatly appreciated.

You may find this helpful: http://chemwiki.ucdavis.edu/Physica...c_Theory/Intermolecular_Forces/Polarizability