1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Reconsidering a B.S. in physics

1. Aug 5, 2015 #1
    I'm a sophomore at UW, who loves math and physics. However, I have been thinking about changing majors as I need serious money to pay back loans, and seeing as BS physics majors don't get many jobs I might change. I don't want to change just for money, but right after college I need a job at least for a couple years or part time to finance my PhD . I have a iffy GPA of 3.2, so I couldn't change majors into Engineering and there is no way of getting into CS at my current school. Should I change schools and go into Physics and/or another major like CS at a crappy in state school? I really don't wanna be stuck not being able to fund my PhD, and defaulting on student loans. Any advice is appreciated!

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 5, 2015 #2
    Finance your Ph.D? Most physics Ph.D students will not have to pay any tuition and will get a stipend as a TA or RA. In fact, it's usually said that if you have to pay for your Ph.D, that school didn't truly want you.

4. Aug 5, 2015 #3

analogdesign

Science Advisor

How do you think you're going to get into a PhD program if you have a 3.2 GPA? Engineering is most likely an easier path to repaying student loans but it's hard work. If you're not that into it you may become a mediocre engineer and then nobody wins.

Last edited: Aug 5, 2015
  5. Aug 5, 2015 #4

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

Are you basing this on data or hearsay?

6. Aug 5, 2015 #5

e.bar.goum

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

7. Aug 5, 2015 #6
    Get that GPA up. Work harder.

8. Aug 5, 2015 #7