Relativity & Sound: Exploring Musical Octaves

In summary, the octave does not fit without certain notes being tuned slightly off. This is due to the fact that the musical octave is a 2:1 frequency ratio and 12 intervals are equal in frequency. The intervals are tuned to make the octave sounds "even" by having notes with a frequency that is a constant ratio to other notes in the octave. This makes certain chords sound funnier, but can be corrected by detuning them slightly.
Lear
Hello! I am new and posting my first post on these forums... so I hope I have posted in the right place for my question.

I should say first that I am not a Physicist, I am a Mathematician. So please keep answers as easy to understand as you can.
I also apologize for the fact that my question will take us into the realms of music theory which many of you will not (nor could you be expected to) understand.

I hope you understand the fact that the musical octave does not fit without certain notes being tuned slightly off? I now remember reading somewhere that Einstein had shown that it was only in our space-time continuum that the octave does not fit (and it is only my guess-work that has linked this with relativity).

Is this indeed correct? and if so, could someone explain how it works please?
I would also be interested to know if there would be any way of finding (even a mathematical basis of) a space-time continuum in which the octave does fit without some notes needing to be tuned off.

Hope you understand what I am on about, and I apologize for my lack of knowledge about physics.

Lear.

Physics news on Phys.org
Lear said:
Hello! I am new and posting my first post on these forums... so I hope I have posted in the right place for my question.