1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Some more study material

1. Oct 27, 2013 #1
    Hello to all i am new to this thread and i have a precalculus exam tomorrow. I was going to post 4 or 5 example
    problems that i have and wanted to know if someone could explain to me how to get the answer step by step.
    I need to use these explanations as a help guide and as long as its step by step i can understand them
    better. thank you very much in advance for those who can help me.

i need some help with these type of problems it deals with angles im lost please could someone explain with as much detail as possible.

1.) in traingle ABC , B =65(degrees) C=45(degrees) and c = 12 what is the measure of side b?(two decimal places)

2.) in traingle ABC , B =90(degrees) C=30(degrees) and c = 15 what is the exact measure of side b?

3.) in traingle ABC , A =45(degrees) B=60(degrees) and a = 9 .side b to the nearest hundredth?

4.) in traingle ABC , a =10 b=20 and c = 13 what is the measure of side B to the nearest 10th degree?

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 27, 2013 #2

Mentallic

Homework Helper

You need to start getting help for your exam earlier than the day before! On this forum we aren't allowed to just provide solutions.. What we can do however is help you along wherever you get stuck.

For all of these problems, you want to use the sine rule:

[tex]\frac{a}{\sin{A}}=\frac{b}{\sin{B}}[/tex]

What this formula is saying is that if you have the 3 of the 4 properties of a triangle:
    1. length of one side (we'll call it a, but it doesn't have to be the 'a' in your triangles)
    2. the opposite angle to a which we denote A
    3. another side length b
    4. the opposite angle B