1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Spring/Mass/Damper system

1. Nov 1, 2014 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    The system is this:
    upload_2014-11-1_14-43-43.png
    I want to find the equation describing it. Assuming K = K and M = M, no friction.

2. Relevant equations
    Nothing to post here.

3. The attempt at a solution

For left M: ##f(t) = Kx_1 + b \frac {d(x_1 -x_2)}{dt} + M \frac {d^2 x_1}{dt^2}##
    For right M: ## b \frac {d(x_1 -x_2)}{dt} = K x_2 + M \frac {d^2 x_2}{dt^2} ##
    Adding the equations: ##f(t) = Kx_1 +K x_2 + M \frac {d^2 x_2}{dt^2} + M \frac {d^2 x_1}{dt^2}##

Is that the way to go here? I have no background in physics, this popped out in a homework question. Please let me know if I am on the right track.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 1, 2014 #2
    There is no single equation of motion, but rather two equations are required.

What do you think gained by adding the two equations?

4. Nov 1, 2014 #3
    I don't think I gained something. It's just that one variable is expressed in terms of two other variables, and I substituted... is that wrong? Anyway, are the two first equations ok? I am not sure about the damper's x variable. Should it be ##x_1 - x_2##?

5. Nov 1, 2014 #4

haruspex

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

No, I think it was a good move. Look at how x1 and x2 appear in your resulting equation. Notice anything?
    Btw, your equations are only valid while d/dt(x1-x2) > 0, right? In general, need some modulus function in there.

6. Nov 1, 2014 #5