Summer programs: engineering or robotics-related

In summary, the speaker is a high school sophomore at a prestigious STEM school who is looking for a summer program or internship to fulfill their school's requirements. They excel in robotics, engineering, and physics and are also Hispanic. They are seeking options for possible internships and mention their school's academic advisor, who has recommended mostly menial or office job opportunities.
Overachiever 2000
I am a high school sophomore at a prestigious STEM school. I am currently looking for a summer program or internship that I could do bc my school requires an internship experience for junior and senior years. I am really good at robotics and have done well in VEX competitions. I am also very skilled in engineering and did well in my engineering and physics class. I am also Hispanic if that helps. What are my possible options?

Physics news on Phys.org
Greg Bernhardt said:
What city/state? Does you school have an academic advisor you can ask?
Norcross, GA. We do but the opportunities she recommended were mostly menial/office job related.

1. What is the purpose of summer programs for engineering or robotics-related fields?

Summer programs for engineering or robotics-related fields are designed to provide students with hands-on experience and exposure to these fields. They aim to stimulate interest and passion for these subjects, as well as develop critical thinking, problem-solving, and technical skills.

2. Who can participate in summer programs for engineering or robotics-related fields?

Summer programs for engineering or robotics-related fields are open to students of various ages, typically ranging from middle school to high school. Some programs may have specific grade level requirements, so it is best to check with the program organizers beforehand.

3. What types of activities are typically included in summer programs for engineering or robotics-related fields?