Teaching myself geometry, algebra 2, and calculus.

In summary, a high school freshman with ADHD is looking to self-teach geometry, algebra 2, Pre Cal, and Calculus in order to prepare for a future PhD in Theoretical Physics and potentially skip high school courses. They are seeking recommendations for books or online classes and have found Khan Academy and MIT's OpenCourseWare to be useful resources. They are also considering talking to their high school teachers and administration for additional guidance.
FuturePhysicist
Hey, I am a freshman in High School and I have a very superior IQ but I am in normal classes. This is due to ADHD and I used to be lazy in school. Anyways, algebra 1 is VERY boring. I want to teach myself geometry, algebra 2, Pre Cal, and Calculus because I love math. Also I feel like it will prepare me for college (PhD in Theoretical Physics) and perhaps I can skip courses through the rest of high school. Anyways, I am wandering if there are any good books or free online classes to where I can teach myself these. I may also want to add that I am a very fast learner.

Physics news on Phys.org
Likes laneschmidt and FuturePhysicist
DivergentSpectrum said:
http://ocw.mit.edu/index.htm
this is a great one and my personal favorite.
https://www.khanacademy.org/
although it specializes in self teaching, its probably not the best but other people say differently.
Thank you very much.

Khan Academy is lacking in practice questions for most subjects right now but is constantly being updated. The explanations are very easy to understand, and there are usually practice questions between subjects that force you to apply things you learn, as you learn.

Likes FuturePhysicist
Also, a lot of popular textbooks are available for free in pdf form with a simple google search.

Last edited:
Likes FuturePhysicist