Terminal velocity of a rocket using dimensional analysis

In summary, this person is trying to find a formula for the terminal velocity of a rocket, but is getting confused because they have no physics background. They reach an equation of dimensional analysis, but are not sure how to solve for the coefficients. They are assisted by someone who tells them that the x, y, and z distances have different dimensions, and that the area is proportional to the product of the x, y, and z distances.
Enthu
I started taking MIT's online physics course a couple of days ago, and since I have no physics background at all, I'm getting a bit confused with dimensional analysis.
I'm trying to find a formula for the terminal velocity of a rocket, using air density ρ, gravity g, area of rocket affected by air A, mass m and the drag coefficient Cd. I have reached the following equation of dimensional analysis:
LT-1 = [M]V[itex]\cdot[/itex][LT-2]W[itex]\cdot[/itex][ML-3]X[itex]\cdot[/itex][L2]Y

I'm pretty sure that is completely wrong. I tried solving for the coefficients and ended up with V = 1 X = 1/2 W = 1 Y = 1/2, and I'm certain that is wrong as well.

Can somebody help me with this? I just can't seem to get a correct formula.
Also, as far as I understood it, from the equation above it is implied that mass should have no effect, but the actual formula for the terminal velocity of a rocket does have mass in it.

--this isn't a homework/coursework question, I'm doing this out of my own curiosity--

Physics news on Phys.org
Well, you have 4 variables and just 3 equations. Possible fix: Use the gravitational force of the rocket, m*g, as single variable.

Anyway:
Solving for M gives V=-X (note the sign).
Solving for T gives W=1/2
The equation for L is now 1=W-3X+2Y, which can be simplified to 1/2 = -3X+2Y.
If m and g can appear as m*g only, this implies V=W and therefore V=1/2, X=-1/2. This allows to determine Y=-1/2.

As final formula:
[tex]v \propto \sqrt{\frac{mg}{\rho A}}[/tex]