Resolving the Twin Paradox: A Mathematical Approach

In summary: Earth clocks? Yes. In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of relativity and the twin paradox, which states that time passes slower for an object that accelerates and moves away from a stationary object. It is also mentioned that time is relative and can be analyzed from any inertial reference frame. A thought experiment involving three objects traveling at near light speeds is presented, and it is discussed how time would pass for each object in different reference frames. The conversation concludes by asking for recommendations for further reading on the topic.
rczmiller
I am not sure if this is the right place to ask this question. I am an amateur but I enjoy reading and trying to understand relativity. If anyone is aware of an article that addresses this question, I would appreciate the reference so that I can read up on it. Unfortunately, there are a lot of websites out there that claims to have the answer, but some of the info seems unfounded. If someone can recommend a better site that I can ask questions to try to clarify my thoughts/readings/understands, I would also welcome the info. I don’t want to waste the experts’ time dealing with my simple questions.

Anyway – it is my understanding that relativity and the twin paradox addresses time passage for 2 objects when one object speeds away from the other then returns. The object that accelerates away will experience time passage “slower” then the other “stationary” object. Since space/time is relative, it does not matter what direction the moving object speeds off. Time relative to the stationary object will slow down.