Understanding the PMF of a Random Variable: A Brief Overview

In summary, the conversation is about a user seeking help with a topic on a forum. However, the forum requires an effort from the user before providing assistance. The user has not made much progress and is considering using the provided answer as a base for future questions. The forum member suggests sketching a cdf to better understand the topic and asks if the user knows the difference between a continuous and discrete probability distribution.
flughafen
Homework Statement
statistics
Relevant Equations
pmf
I am new to the topic so I do need your help here. Thanks in advance

1.png

Physics news on Phys.org
Hello @flughafen, :welcome: !

Unfortunately for you, PF requires an effort from you before we are allowed to assist. So: what have you got thus far ?

BvU said:
Hello @flughafen, :welcome: !

Unfortunately for you, PF requires an effort from you before we are allowed to assist. So: what have you got thus far ?

I haven't gotten much far yet. Just left it there, thinking that I could use the answer of this as base for other alike questions.

flughafen said:
I haven't gotten much far yet. Just left it there, thinking that I could use the answer of this as base for other alike questions.

Have you tried sketching the cdf as in part a? This should help you to see what's going on.

Last edited by a moderator:
Do you not at least know the difference between a "continuous" and a "discrete" probability distribution? That is one of the questions asked that you did not answer.

Related to Understanding the PMF of a Random Variable: A Brief Overview

1. What is the PMF of a random variable Y?

The PMF (Probability Mass Function) of a random variable Y is a function that assigns probabilities to each possible value of Y. It describes the probability distribution of Y and can be represented as a graph or a table.

2. How is the PMF of Y different from the PDF of Y?