Python Using Different Versions of Python - Compatibility/Dependencies?

• Thread starter WWGD
  • Start date

WWGD

Science Advisor
Gold Member
Hi All,
I am trying to learn versions 2,3 of Python ( long story). Just curious as to the "Dependency/Compatibility" issues between and within versions 2 and 3. Are packages/libraries in 3.x available for 3.x' where x'>x ? How about for version 2? Specifically, at this point, I am trying to do some Web Scraping. If I learn to use it with one version, how likely am I of being able to do the same or similar within an other

Borg

Science Advisor
Gold Member
I am fairly new to Python also. I chose to go with 3 right away and a lot of examples use 2. However, I haven't had too many issues using version 2 examples with my version 3 code.

WWGD

Science Advisor
Gold Member
I am fairly new to Python also. I chose to go with 3 right away and a lot of examples use 2. However, I haven't had too many issues using version 2 examples with my version 3 code.
Have you been able to do Web Scraping with more than one version?

Borg

Science Advisor
Gold Member
Haven't done that. I've been focused on machine learning code.

WWGD

Science Advisor
Gold Member
Haven't done that. I've been focused on machine learning code.
And you have been able to go back-and-forth between versions?
EDIT: Do you use Graphlab or something else for ML?

Borg

Science Advisor
Gold Member
I haven't been doing that. I just said that I've had few problems using the version 2 examples in my version 3 environment. BTW, why do you want to use both versions anyway? I could understand if you had a large collection of version 2 code that you built but, if you're as new to Python as I am, you're better off just going with the newer version.

WWGD

Science Advisor
Gold Member