1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Vector addition ranking task

1. Aug 30, 2014 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

Hello, this is my first time taking physics in college, and I have read the section twice and I this is what I understand. If someone could point me in the right direction, that would be great.

For example:
    How do I find the angle for example from Vector a + Vector b.
    Would I use the tail to head method and that would give me a reference angle of 90 degrees, and rank accordingly? Or am i missing something here

physicsadd_zps382b9f9f.jpg

2. Relevant equations

hint1)
    The vector resulting from the combination a⃗ +b⃗ is the only vector that lies outside of the first quadrant. The first quadrant is the portion of the xy coordinate axes that lies between the positive x axis and the positive y axis.

hint2)
    You may add the vectors either geometrically or by determining the components of the vectors and adding component-wise. Once you have done the necessary vector additions, you can measure the angles from the positive x axis counterclockwise to the resultant vectors.

3. The attempt at a solution

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 30, 2014 #2
    Yes, you can use that method to add the vectors together and then find the angle of the resultant vector. You could also find the resultant with components, but since you're given all the vectors, it's probably easiest to just draw the additions off to the side.