Calculating Velocity Without Time Factor | Physics Homework

In summary, the person is trying to create a physics problem for their class but is missing the time factor in the equation v=d/t. They have the necessary information such as velocity, distance, mass, density, volume, and area, but are unsure of how to calculate the time it would take for an object to fall a certain distance. They are also looking for a way to find drag and q without knowing velocity. The problem will involve solving for multiple unknowns including drag and terminal velocity. The person suggests using the equation x=v-initial*t+1/2*a*t^2 for an object falling from rest, and mentions the acceleration due to gravity as 938m/s^2. They also ask if there is a way to
Sesquipedalian
I am just getting into physics and I have met a problem, I have almost all of the information I need to make a problem for other students in my class but the problem is I do not have the time factor in v=d/t is there any other way that I am able to calculate for Velocity?

Physics news on Phys.org
dx/dt

Velocity is the time derivative of the inital position function x(t). You need time. Perhaps your time value is meant to be a variable. It would help if you descrbed your problem a little more

EDIT:
If you are given the directional velocities(D.V.) i.e velocities in the x, y, and z directions, you can find the overall velocity by adding the squares of the D.V. and taking the squareroot

Last edited:
Do you have accelleration?