1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What books can I learn from the most?

1. Dec 11, 2016 #1
    Okay, so I'm currently a mechanical engineering major at San Jose State University, but I just want to become much more engaged with physics and mathematics. I do pretty good with calculus, math comes easy to me. I'm a first year student taking calculus 2. I was just wondering what books I can read to make me so much better at physics and math. I want to be able to attack any math problem at ease and be able to understand most topics of physics. I'm aware that it will take years of practice, but I just want to know what books I can read to do so. And I don't want them to be textbooks, I want to teach myself the old fashioned way. Disregarding money, I'd love a list of books I can read to make me better with these topics. Like I said before, I want to become a much better mathematician and know be close to a theoretical physicist. I know I want to be an engineer, but I just want to become the smartest person in capable of becoming.

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 11, 2016 #2

phinds

Gold Member
    2016 Award

That makes no sense to me. It is the PURPOSE of textbooks to be the best place to learn basic subjects (which is where you have to start, based on your comments). What did you have in mind?

You are already the smartest person you are capable of so I assume you mean you want to become the most knowledgeable person you are capable of.

Oh, and welcome to the forum. You are supposed to do an intro post in the intro section.

4. Dec 11, 2016 #3
    Hmm... That wasn't a very nice introduction. Welcome Henry! Can I recommend 'Road to Reality' by Roger Penrose as one you should definitely read.

5. Dec 11, 2016 #4

phinds

Gold Member
    2016 Award