Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Wilson mirror and Early effect.

1. Sep 13, 2012 #1

perplexabot

Gold Member

Hello all. So i'm currently studying about current mirrors (specifically the Wilson current mirror). I'm reading "The Art of Electronics," page 89 (fig. 2.48 or the image attached). In there it says:
    Ok so most of this makes sense to me, but shouldn't Q3 be the one "circumvented" from the Early effect since the load is attached to it?

Attached Files:

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 13, 2012 #2

uart

Science Advisor

The thing is, the whole idea of a current source/sink is that it should be able to work into a wide range of voltages while maintaining a constant current. So we cant avoid having collector voltage variations at Q3, to do so would "circumvent" the very purpose of a current source.

What's different about Q3 in the Wilson current mirror compared to the basic two transistor current source is that it is the emitter current that is being "mirrored" in the Wilson case (@ Q3) whereas it is effectively the base current that's being mirrored in the simpler two transistor case. You'll notice that the input to Q3 (output of the Q1 Q2 mirror) is on the emitter and the output on the collector. So Q3 is effectively a common base stage buffering the Q1/Q2 mirror.

This make a huge difference to it's susceptibility to Early effect. See my reply #16 in the following post for further explanation of why this is so. https://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=634511

Last edited: Sep 13, 2012
  4. Sep 13, 2012 #3

perplexabot

Gold Member

Thank you for the reply.