A simple physics model for vehicles on different surfaces?

In summary, a games programmer is looking for a way to create a simulation of different vehicles moving along different types of tracks. He is interested in inputs that include car stats like horsepower, weight, torque, and length of track. He is also interested in environmental factors, like the coefficient of friction under different surface conditions.
electrodruid
Hi,
Just to let you know my level of knowledge/ability, I studied a degree that included some dynamics, but that was nearly 15 years ago, so I'm rusty. I'm a games programmer, and I tend to understand code (or things that can be translated into code) more easily than hardcore maths equations, but I'll take any help I can get.

So, I'm trying to figure out how to build a way to simulate different vehicles moving along different kinds of tracks. The simulation will be non-interactive, so it's not like a standard driving game where the player controls the acceleration, etc. So, to begin with, let's imagine two cars doing a straight drag race on tarmac.

What I want is to be able to input some basic stats about each car (I guess stuff like horsepower, weight, torque, etc. - but I'm open to suggestions about what will best fit the model). The output should be some kind of curve or function which describes the car's movement along the track: a car that accelerates quickly but has a limit on its top speed might lose against a car with a slower acceleration provided that the track is long enough to allow it to overtake, for example. What's the simplest way you can think of for generating this kind of output from a given set of inputs?