Aerospace design software

In summary, as a newcomer to Physics Forums, you are seeking advice on designing a high performance composite GA aircraft. You are interested in finding software that can help you select an airfoil and optimize for performance factors such as lift, drag, and moment coefficients. Cost is a factor and you also plan on consulting with aeronautical engineers. It is important to have a well-defined design process and to continuously test and validate your design with real-world data.
jbocek
Hello all... I'm new to Physics Forums so I'm not sure if I'm posting this in the correct area but here goes anyway... I'm interesed in designing a high performance composite GA (general avaiation) aircraft but need some assistance with selecting a good design software. I'm primarily interested (at least in the beginning) finding software that will allow me to select an airfoil (such as the GA airfoils by Harry Riblett) and then determine the optimum airfoil thickness to provide the perfect cL, cM, & cD (as well as optimum wing area, angle of incidence, etc) for the aircraft. Speed & low drag are the goals... Cost is a factor as I'm merely interested in designing a new wing to improve performance on a experimental Glasair III that I own.

Thanks in advance for the help.

Physics news on Phys.org

Hello and welcome to Physics Forums! As a scientist with expertise in aircraft design, I would be happy to assist you with your inquiry. First, I would like to say that you have come to the right place for seeking advice on designing a high performance composite GA aircraft.

In terms of selecting a good design software, there are several options available that can help you with your specific needs. Some popular software used in the aerospace industry include SolidWorks, CATIA, and ANSYS. These software have features that allow you to simulate airfoil designs and optimize for performance factors such as lift, drag, and moment coefficients.