Designing a UAV: Airfoil Selection Criteria

In summary, The speaker is a mechanical engineer working on a UAV design similar to Burt Rutan's Long-EZ or Velocity. They are using XFLR 5 and Profili for initial analysis and are seeking advice on airfoil selection based on the UAV's mission and weight. They also mention Klaus Savier's successful use of Rutan's Vari-EZ for high fuel efficiency. They express preference for the Berkut design and mention its potential in the market, despite the issues with the Lancair and Glassair designs.
kevjcarvalho
hi,
i am a mechanical engineer currently working on the design of a UAV. Our rough sketch kind of resembles Burt Rutan's Long-EZ or Velocity. I am attaching a couple of sketches of the aircraft which my team and i have constructed using XFLR 5. We will also be using XFLR 5 and Profili for initial analysis. What kind of criteria would you suggest for airfoil selection? For example high or low Cm, what range perhaps, what Cl/Cd range. Thanks

Attachments

• SAD2010-2011_design1.0.png
    SAD2010-2011_design1.0.png
    20.5 KB · Views: 680
  • SAD2010-2011_design1.0_panelling.png
    SAD2010-2011_design1.0_panelling.png
    17.8 KB · Views: 649
Physics news on Phys.org
"The best place for a canard is on someone else's airplane" :wink:

kevjcarvalho said:
hi,
What kind of criteria would you suggest for airfoil selection? For example high or low Cm, what range perhaps, what Cl/Cd range. Thanks

Hmmm, it kind of depends on what the mission of the UAV will be - e.g. high altitude, slow speed surveillance, fast-n-nimble, how heavy is it going to be, etc. etc.

Cyrus said:
"The best place for a canard is on someone else's airplane" :wink:

Yeah, right...

Hey, talk to http://www.aopa.org/aircraft/articles/2008/081230100mpg.html?WT.mc_id=090102epilot&WT.mc_sect=gan"! Klaus Savier has managed to eke out 100 mpg from Rutan's Vari-EZ.