Autotransformer phasor diagram

In summary, the current in a step-down transformer must be smaller than the load current to turn it on.
jaus tail
I'm studying Auto Transformer phasor diagram, and am having some doubts. I'd be grateful if someone could help me out with them.

Book has equation:
upload_2017-10-31_10-36-34.png

I understand that using Kirchoff's law we get minus sign for (I2 - I1) term, but shouldn't it be positive as per concept?
Negative sign means the mmf of (I2 - I1) aids the source, which can't be.
It is V1 that is eventually providing I2 So I2 has to oppose V1 and not aid it.

I understand that using KVL sign conventions we get the above equation with the signs above, but conceptually shouldn't (I2-I1) oppose V1

Doubt#2: And in the phasor diagram here:
upload_2017-10-31_10-38-46.png

They've added the terms V1 = E1 + I1R1 + I1X1 + (I2-I1)R1 +(I2-I1)X1

Shouldn't the direction of I2-I1 be upwards when added with E1?
SInce we're adding -(I2-I1)(R1)
So if (I2-I1)R1 is facing south then the negative of it must face north.

Attachments

• upload_2017-10-31_10-36-34.png
    upload_2017-10-31_10-36-34.png
    60.7 KB · Views: 2,831
  • upload_2017-10-31_10-38-46.png
    upload_2017-10-31_10-38-46.png
    41.6 KB · Views: 3,093
Engineering news on Phys.org
jaus tail said:
Negative sign means the mmf of (I2 - I1) aids the source, which can't be.
It is V1 that is eventually providing I2 So I2 has to oppose V1 and not aid it.
Nice catch!

Actually, the mmf balance equation for an autotransformer is I1(N1-N2)=N2(I2-I1).
Edit: I was considering N1 to be what the textbooks call N1-N2. So this totally makes sense.
Just a matter nomenclature!

@jim hardy, could you shed some light?

Last edited:
Likes jaus tail
Rigor is a necessary habit for us mortals.

We have to assign polarities.
Here's how i would assign currents and voltage polarities
autoxfmr4cnh.jpg

and i don't see E1
so i'd write KVL, walking I1's loop
V1 = I1(r1+jx1) + (I1 - I2) (r2 + jx2)