Car Traveling the Circle - Kinematic Quiz

In summary: Seriously, OP, if you want to be spoonfed, go to Yahoo Answers and offer 10 points to the first sucker who'll help you with a full solution. But you'd better be ready to do it for all your problems, because you'll never learn this way.
jtigers1
Good evening.
I'd like to first start by saying I am new to this forum, and I am a physics noob. I know that very fact will help people shy away from trying to help me answer this question. This problem (which an image is posted) is 1 of 5 questions on a take home kinematic quiz. I've managed to answer all of them (correctly, I hope) except for this one.

One of the issues, I am having with this question is that I've never seen a similar problem. Also, some of the language in the problem may be confusing me.

Homework Statement

A car is traveling the circle shown between points A + B at a constant speed of 10 m/s. The radius of the circle is 100m.

There is a theta sub a (30 degrees) and a theta sub b (60 degrees).

I wrote everything that I could, but I've attached an image that shows everything.

a) Find the components of V_a and V_b

b) Compute delta V (keep in component form)

c) If it takes 10s to go between points A and B, what is the acceleration, in component form and magnitude angle form?

Relevant equations
a= delta v/delta t
components of vectors

The Attempt at a Solution

First off, the problems states the car is traveling at a constant speed, so doesn't that mean acceleration = 0?

But part c wants me to find the acceleration...? If its going at a constant speed, how is there a change in velocity for part b? These two things are confusing the crap out of me.

So far, I've started to find the components of V_a (hopefully the right way)
V_ax = (cos30)(10)
V_ay = (sin30)(10)

If this is the correct way to figure out the components, then I think I can get parts A and B of this question. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• hw2.2.jpg