Circuit Board Design: Basics of Designing a PCB

In summary: Simulation Program with Integrated Circuit Emphasis...engine) that can read the netlist and tell you how the circuit should behave in certain conditions. These are usually used by circuit designers to analyze the circuit before it gets to the PCB layout folks.In summary, designing a printed circuit board (PCB) from scratch requires knowledge of circuit design and the ability to translate a circuit schematic into a PCB layout. PCB design software is used to arrange components and create a layout that connects them in the same way as shown in the schematic. The design process also involves considering the specific conditions for the PCB's use, such as temperature and water resistance. Experience and a good understanding of electronic theory are essential for successful circuit and PCB design. Computer simulation can also
The_Inventor
My background is in physics so I have a very basic understanding of circuit design. I was just wondering, If someone were to design a printed circuit board (from scratch) how do they know that it will function the way it should? and also how do they know that the printed circuit board will satisfy all the conditions for it's use? For example if I wanted to build a calculator or a digital watch from scratch I would need to use software to make a schematic of the PCB but, how do I figure out how to arrange the components so that the PCB actually does what I want it to and better yet how do I figure out what components to use? Sorry if this was long and confusing.

Engineering news on Phys.org
The_Inventor said:
I was just wondering, If someone were to design a printed circuit board (from scratch) how do they know that it will function the way it should?

in it's very basic form, the circuit schematic can be directly translated to a PCB layout by making sure there are tracks that connect the same components to each other as shown in the schematic

OK a basic circuit