Definite integral of sinc(x)

In summary, the question asks for the value of a definite integral in a multi-choice question related to a course in Fourier. It is possible that the integral cannot be solved using elementary techniques, and the answer may be found by verifying one of the other options. Wolfram Alpha / Mathematica provides the result in terms of the "sine integral" function Si.
Chen
I'm studying a course in Fourier. In a multi-choice question, one of the answers asks for the value of the definite integral of sin(ax)/x over [-pi,pi]. I am wondering if there is a way to calculate this integral (I guess using Fourier techniques) or not.
It is possible that it can't be solved, and the question can be answered by verifying that one of the OTHER answers IS correct, but I just want to make sure I'm not missing something.

Thanks,
Chen

Physics news on Phys.org
Well, Wolfram Alpha / Mathematica gives the result in terms of the "sine integral" function Si.

So if you're looking for an elementary solution, it is highly likely that it does not exist.

1. What is the formula for the definite integral of sinc(x)?

The definite integral of sinc(x) can be expressed as ab sin(x)/x dx, where a and b are the lower and upper limits of integration, respectively.

2. What is the significance of the definite integral of sinc(x)?

The definite integral of sinc(x) is used to calculate the area under the curve of the sinc function between the given limits of integration. This can be helpful in various applications, such as signal processing and Fourier analysis.

3. How is the definite integral of sinc(x) solved?

The definite integral of sinc(x) can be solved using various methods, such as integration by parts, substitution, or trigonometric identities. It can also be evaluated using numerical methods, such as the trapezoidal rule or Simpson's rule.

4. What are the properties of the definite integral of sinc(x)?