Elaborating on stress-energy tensor

In summary, the conservation equation \nabla_aT^{ab}=0 can be used to deduce the following two equations:(\varrho+p)\dot{u}^a = \nabla^ap - u^a\dot{p}\dot{\varrho} + (\varrho+p)\nabla_au^a = 0By using the fact that u^a \nabla_a is equivalent to an overdot and the identity u_a u^a = 1, we can simplify these equations to (\varrho+p)\dot{u}^b = \nabla^bp - u^b\dot{p} and \dot{\varrho}
gnieddu
Hi,

I'm trying to work out the logic behind a statement I found in the GR book I'm currently studying. It says that from the conservation equation [tex]\nabla_aT^{ab}=0[/tex], one could deduce the following two equations:

[tex](\varrho+p)\dot{u}^a = \nabla^ap - u^a\dot{p}[/tex]

[tex]\dot{\varrho} + (\varrho+p)\nabla_au^a = 0[/tex]

I've tried calculating [tex]\nabla_aT^{ab}[/tex] from:

[tex]T^{ab}=(\varrho+p)u^au^b - g^{ab}p[/tex]

and the best I could make out of it are the following two lines:

[tex]\nabla_aT^{ab}=(\varrho+p)\nabla_a(u^au^b) + [\nabla_a(\varrho+p)]u^au^b -g^{ab}\nabla_ap =[/tex]

[tex]=(\varrho+p)[u^b\nabla_au^a+u^a\nabla_au^b] + [\nabla_a(\varrho+p)]u^au^b - g^{ab}\nabla_ap[/tex]

Now I'm stuck here, and, what's worse, I'm not even sure these two lines are correct...

Thanks to whoever could provide some light here!

Physics news on Phys.org
You're almost there. Rearranging your last line gives

[tex]
\begin{equation*}
\begin{split}
0 &= \nabla_aT^{ab}\\
&= \left(\varrho+p\right)\left[u^b\nabla_au^a+u^a\nabla_au^b\right] + \left[\nabla_a \left(\varrho+p\right)\right]u^au^b - g^{ab}\nabla_ap \\
&= \left(\varrho+p\right)u^a\nabla_au^b - \nabla^bp + \left(u^a\nabla_a p\right)\right]u^b + \left(u^a\nabla_a \varrho\right)\right]u^b + \left(\varrho+p\right)u^b\nabla_au^a
\end{split}
\end{equation*}
[/tex]

You also need to use both [itex]1 = u_a u^a[/itex] and its covariant derivative. Think about this, and, if you are still puzzled, ask for more hints.

Last edited: