Good Books for an undergraduate first year Mech Eng.

In summary, the Mechanical Engineering student recommends buying a book that will provide a basic understanding of thermodynamics and fluid mechanics. The student also recommends buying a book on solid mechanics.
knight92
Hi, I am currently studying Mechanical Engineering and I am in the first year. Can you guys suggest me any good books for thermodynamics and fluid mechanics. I am ready to buy more than just one book. I atleast want a book that can provide me with some basics(Easy learning) just to give me an idea wht the hell thermodynamics and fluid mechanics is really about and get me started. Then move on to a more advance book that goes into detail but I want something that's easy to understand and well written, a book in which everything is well explained.
My teachers are of no help at all. I absolutely don't understand what they talk about in lectures and I can't go ask them for help personally because I don't know what I need help in. I am so confused. So please suggest some good books.

Currently I am using this book: http://www.amazon.com/dp/0486479250/?tag=pfamazon01-20.

Thank you for your time.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Go talk with the profs. They can help figure out what you need help with.

if I go talk to them they ask me what I need help in and I don't have an answer because I don't even know what's going on. I just need a good book to understand some bits .That way I would know what I need help in and then maybe I can go to my professor and ask him what is this and how does that work.

If you're just looking for an overview of a bunch of general topics, I'd recommend picking up a copy of

https://www.amazon.com/dp/0071428674/?tag=pfamazon01-20

It has a vast range of general information about engineering topics.