1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Help writing a few basic formulae

1. Aug 15, 2006 #1
    I'm assuming this is the correct forum, please tell me if it isn't so I'll know if future.

I'm new to the whole formulae thing, and need some help with some (presumably) easy formulae. How would I write the following in both words and symbols? I've done as much work as I know how to do, so sorry if I come across as being naive.

-Sodium Hydroxide + Sulfuric Acid =...

-Calcium Hydroxide + Hydrochloric Acid=...(Calcium Chloride + Water)

-Magnesium Hydroxide + Nitric Acid=...(Magnesium Nitrate + Water)

Thanks in advance.
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2006
  2. jcsd
  3. Aug 15, 2006 #2
    Well since this is a homework problem, you should actually have posted here. https://www.physicsforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=157

All of those reactions are that between a base and an acid. Hydroxides (OH-) are common bases. Ammonia (NH3) is a common weak base.

the hydroxide ion is OH-
    the sodium ion is Na+

NaOH sodium hydroxide
    sulfuric acid is H2SO4

2NaOH + H2SO4 --> Na2SO4 + 2H2O

Your book should tell you how to write the forumla for all of these compounds. As for the reactions look up acid-base neutralization; you always get a salt and water. But you really need to show more effort before I can help you out more :-/
  4. Aug 15, 2006 #3
    (Oh, sorry about the misplacement of the thread =/)

My book hardly tells me anything and I have an awful teacher; all I need are these three answers to work off; sorry if I sound kind of demanding, but I honestly don't want mean to sound like I am.
  5. Aug 15, 2006 #4