How Do Spring Constants Affect Harmonic Motion Periods and Frequencies?

In summary, the conversation involved the exchange student asking for help with four basic questions related to harmonic motion and sound levels. The questions involved calculating the period of a spring with a feather, the maximum speed and acceleration of a mass undergoing harmonic motion, and the sound level produced by multiple machines. The student shared their attempt at solving the questions, but further clarification and explanation was needed.
amasu
I am a Swedish exchange student, it is the first time i am on this website and truthfully i am desperate.

I need to know how to solve these 4 basic questions.

Homework Statement

1. A feather is pulled out 4 cm if you hang 50 grams in it. If the spring is then loaded with a total of 150 grams and can pivot up and down the harmonic motion, which is the period?

2. A mass of 0.5 kg undergoing harmonic motion with a frequency of 2 Hz and an amplitude of 8mm. calculate:

a maximum speed of the Mass

b Maximum Acceleration of the mass

c The maximum force of the mass

3. A machine produces a certain distance of the sound level 87 decibels, how big would the noise level be if three such machines started simultaneously next to each other?

4. A string has a fundamental frequency of 294 Hz. then press down your finger on the string and it will be 25% shorter. What is the new frequency for the new basic tone that arise?

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

I tried to solve the 1st question and this is how far i came:

My solution: I started with Hooke's law

f =-k * x

F =-k * x

-0.05 * 9.82 =-k * 0.04

0.491 = k * 0.04

0.491 / 0.04 =-k * 0.04 / 0.04

k = 0.491 / 0.04

k = -12.275

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF;
Lets deal with them one at a time:
1. A feather is pulled out 4 cm if you hang 50 grams in it. If the spring is then loaded with a total of 150 grams and can pivot up and down the harmonic motion, which is the period?