How can I use integration by substitution to solve this problem?

In summary, the conversation is about a 24 year old college student who is learning calculus over their holiday break. They had previously taken a poorly taught calculus course and are now struggling with integration by substitution. They had enlisted the help of a math tutor and are confused about the method of substitution and the meaning of "dx" on the right hand side of the equation. The conversation includes a detailed explanation and example of the substitution method by both ehild and another person.
spqr
Hi all
I'm a 24 year old college student and am learning calculus over my holiday break. I studied a subject last semester which taught calculus up to partial derivatives, but it was VERY poorly taught (to the point where the university is evaluating the results of all students of the subject). I absolutely love math and I would like to study calculus and its applications in my spare time (particularly astronomy applications)

I am struggling with a few things, in particular integration by substitution. The professor showed an example of a very basic function but did not explain when this method is used, or why. From what I can gather, it is used when the function also contains its own derivative.
I had enlisted the help of a maths tutor because I hadn't studied math in about 7 years (and never any calculus).
Anyway here is my question.

Homework Statement

Integration by substitution
f(x) = 2x/(5+x^2)

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

Now, if we allow u(x) = 5+x^2, then du/dx = 2x. We move 2 out of the integral, but what happens to the x as the numerator? I am to understand it equals 1, as the derivative of u is removed from the integral. The integral is now 1/u which is ln (5+x^2) + C.

Now, I don't understand why exactly the derivative is gone! My maths tutor had shown me a method, but I don't understand exactly how it works. The method is as follows:
f(x)= 2x/(5+x^2) dx