1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Is my Power Supply Circuit correct in the recreated version?

1. Oct 5, 2016 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    So the circuit drawing is in this link http://i.imgur.com/jVYm5La.jpg . Basically, we have to create a power supply circuit and using Livewire and PCB wizard program in conjunction, I created this circuit

2. Relevant equations
    None?

3. The attempt at a solution

8ldwiXr.png
    yarwK2Q.png

I can't seem to know exactly if this is correct or wrong when I recreate this using the program. I tried using the Play function in Livewire and the green current seems to have no Voltage. I'm also wondering if I misplaced some polarity of the Voltage regulators there.

Sorry, I'm a bit new to using these programs

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 5, 2016
  2. jcsd
  3. Oct 5, 2016 #2

lewando

Gold Member

A couple of observations: Your pots are not correctly connected. F1 is not serving any purpose.

4. Oct 5, 2016 #3

NascentOxygen

Staff: Mentor

Looks like the fuse is in the wrong place.

I think you will need a pair of bridge rectifiers—one for each side of the power supply.

Are you going to use a transformer between the 220V and your rectifier?

5. Oct 5, 2016 #4

I completely forgot though, the transformer is a step-down one so the input would only be 25V

Edit: How about the Voltage regulators? Is there something wrong with it?

Last edited: Oct 5, 2016
  6. Oct 5, 2016 #5

NascentOxygen

Staff: Mentor

By this I mean one bridge rectifier for the positive regulator, and a second bridge rectifier for the negative regulator.

I think you should search on google for a few schematics of a dual regulated power supply, and model your circuit on those.

7. Oct 5, 2016 #6