Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I Non-Linear optics vs The 2nd Law of Thermodynamics

1. Sep 3, 2016 #1
    Hi, rank newbie here, with my first post.

This one is something I figure every first year student comes up with at some point, but I don't know enough keywords to Search for an answer. (I'm not a student except in the category "of life": this isn't assigned homework)

I figger, using a bit of non-linear optics, the 2nd law of Thermodynamics can be circumvented. Obviously this isn't true, so let's take a looksee...

---

Let's start with definitions, simplified for clarity.

Temperature - overall power emission per areal unit.

Black Body - absorbs all radiation, emits a predefined spectrum, related directly to power, with some non-sequitur to the experiment formula.

Fluorescer - transforms a certain input range of frequencies into a certain output range. Basically, when photons are absorbed, a bit of internal heat is produced and lower frequency photons emitted.

Bandpass mirror - passes only a certain frequency range, reflects the rest.

----

Next, the components of the device, also simplified, also for clarity...

- A black-body ball, partially painted with a fluorescer (polkadots or stripes, your pick).

- A bandpass mirror sphere, larger than the ball.

Required is that the fluorescence output be the same frequency as the mirror's bandpass.

----

And conduct the experiment...

Within an environment of a non-specified BB background radiation temperature...

Place the ball within the sphere.

That's it.

----

What happens...