Panofsky VS Nayfeh on "Electricity and Magnetism"

In summary, the books are good, but I would recommend starting with Kip and then progressing to Purcell, Nayfeh Brussel, and finally Panofsky Phillips.
Joker93
Hello,
I will be taking a second course on electromagnetism and I want a book that bridges the gap between Griffith's book and Jackson's book. I have come across Panofsky's book and Nayfeh's book but I don't know which one is better.
Any opinion for these would be much appreciated
Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
As an undergrad, I thought Panofsky's book was so difficult I read Jackson instead. Now that I used Jackson, I now understand Panofsky. Although Panofsky is thinner and not as broad as Jackson, I think is ievery bit as advanced as Jackson. I do not know Nayfeh's book.

Nayfeh & Brussel is definitely an undergrad book at a level lower than Jackson and Panofsky.

mpresic said:
As an undergrad, I thought Panofsky's book was so difficult I read Jackson instead. Now that I used Jackson, I now understand Panofsky. Although Panofsky is thinner and not as broad as Jackson, I think is ievery bit as advanced as Jackson. I do not know Nayfeh's book.
Well, I have read a few sections of Panofsky and found it to be really good and intuitive. I don't think that is as mathematically oriented as Jackson.

Likes SredniVashtar
Truecrimson said:
Nayfeh & Brussel is definitely an undergrad book at a level lower than Jackson and Panofsky.
I have already studied most sections from Griffiths and I thought that Nayfeh would provide a stepping stone to graduate level EM. What I mean is, I thought Nayfeh's book was at a higher mathematical level than Griffith's. Am I wrong to think that?

Maybe slightly more mathematical. I used it as a supplementary text when I did an undergrad EM course.

Truecrimson said:
Maybe slightly more mathematical. I used it as a supplementary text when I did an undergrad EM course.
So will I only if it's more mathematically advanced than Griffith's