1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Seemingly simple integral gets complicated

1. Oct 21, 2005 #1
    Well, I'm an AP Calculus BC student, and I always liked to get ahead, so before the year started, I went through Calc I and II. Now that I'm in the class with a 100+, I'm simply refreshing myself on the Calc II portion. My brother decided to give me a seemingly simple problem that turned out more complicated than I expected. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.
    Problem: Evaluate integral
    [tex]\int \sin{x} \sqrt{(\cos{x})^2 + 1}dx[/tex]
    I decided to use substitution initially, setting u = cos x. dx = du/-sin(x), thus eliminating the sin(x) and leaving [tex]\int \sqrt{u^2 + 1}du [/tex]
    I then thought my best bet would be to approach this with trignometric substitution. I said tan([tex]\theta[/tex]) = u so
    [tex]\sec{\theta}^2d\theta = du [/tex]
    [tex]\int (\sec{\theta})^2\sqrt{(\tan(\theta)} +1)dx [/tex]
    I then evaluated [tex]\sqrt{ (\tan{\theta})^2 +1 } = (\sec{\theta})[/tex]
    Thus, my integral was simplified (relatively) down to
    [tex] \int (\sec{\theta})^3 d\theta [/tex]
    It just gets worse from there. Am I making some horrid mistake in my trignometric substitution or before or have I completely approached this incorrectly? I have more work that I've done, but I want to ensure that this is correct so far. Any help would be great. Thanks

Last edited: Oct 21, 2005
  2. jcsd
  3. Oct 21, 2005 #2

Fermat

Homework Helper

try u = sinht

4. Oct 21, 2005 #3
    It looks a-ok so far. Just don't forget the minus sign in your first u-substitution.

Do you know how to integrate secant cubed?

5. Oct 22, 2005 #4

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

Your brother is a smart-ass!