Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Homework Help: Seemingly simple integral gets complicated

1. Oct 21, 2005 #1
    Well, I'm an AP Calculus BC student, and I always liked to get ahead, so before the year started, I went through Calc I and II. Now that I'm in the class with a 100+, I'm simply refreshing myself on the Calc II portion. My brother decided to give me a seemingly simple problem that turned out more complicated than I expected. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.
    Problem: Evaluate integral
    [tex]\int \sin{x} \sqrt{(\cos{x})^2 + 1}dx[/tex]
    I decided to use substitution initially, setting u = cos x. dx = du/-sin(x), thus eliminating the sin(x) and leaving [tex]\int \sqrt{u^2 + 1}du [/tex]
    I then thought my best bet would be to approach this with trignometric substitution. I said tan([tex]\theta[/tex]) = u so
    [tex]\sec{\theta}^2d\theta = du [/tex]
    [tex]\int (\sec{\theta})^2\sqrt{(\tan(\theta)} +1)dx [/tex]
    I then evaluated [tex]\sqrt{ (\tan{\theta})^2 +1 } = (\sec{\theta})[/tex]
    Thus, my integral was simplified (relatively) down to
    [tex] \int (\sec{\theta})^3 d\theta [/tex]
    It just gets worse from there. Am I making some horrid mistake in my trignometric substitution or before or have I completely approached this incorrectly? I have more work that I've done, but I want to ensure that this is correct so far. Any help would be great. Thanks

Last edited: Oct 21, 2005
  2. jcsd
  3. Oct 21, 2005 #2

Fermat

Homework Helper

try u = sinht

4. Oct 21, 2005 #3
    It looks a-ok so far. Just don't forget the minus sign in your first u-substitution.

Do you know how to integrate secant cubed?

5. Oct 22, 2005 #4

HallsofIvy

Science Advisor

Your brother is a smart-ass!