Exploring Einstein's Principle of Relativity

In summary, the conversation discusses the conflict between Einstein's theory of relativity and Newton's laws of motion. While the Galilean transformation holds true for low speeds, it is superseded by the Lorentz transformation for higher velocities, where speeds never exceed the speed of light. This is in line with Einstein's belief that nothing can travel faster than the speed of light, which is a constant speed. The concept of relativity is applied to light, suggesting that it has a mass and its velocity remains constant regardless of the observer's reference frame. The formulas of special relativity have been extensively tested at low velocities but have not been tested in space or at speeds close to the speed of light. The conversation also touches on the idea of
pinoyplaya
Hey guys. I am a college physics student and ever since this theory was introduced to me in high school, I refuse to believe it.

What caught my attention first is that Einstein's Principle of Relativity.

Einstein suggest that the laws of physics are the same for all observers in uniform motion relative to one another. However, using Galilean Transformations, two objects traveling on opposite directions, one with a velocity v while the other has a velocity 2v. Relative to each other, object one is traveling with a velocity 3v relative to object two and vice versa. Einstein does not refute this at all.

However, when applied to light, this should remain the same. No matter what the object was, bullet, car, rocket, or light, this transformation should remain the same. But Einstein disagrees. He suggest that light remains at the speed of light and is a constant speed (which I agree). But he also says (from what I learned) that nothing can have a velocity faster than the speed of light despite their reference frames.