Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Theory of Relativity

1. Jan 10, 2010 #1
    Hey guys. I am a college physics student and ever since this theory was introduced to me in high school, I refuse to believe it.

What caught my attention first is that Einstein's Principle of Relativity.

Einstein suggest that the laws of physics are the same for all observers in uniform motion relative to one another. However, using Galilean Transformations, two objects travelling on opposite directions, one with a velocity v while the other has a velocity 2v. Relative to each other, object one is travelling with a velocity 3v relative to object two and vice versa. Einstein does not refute this at all.

However, when applied to light, this should remain the same. No matter what the object was, bullet, car, rocket, or light, this transformation should remain the same. But Einstein disagrees. He suggest that light remains at the speed of light and is a constant speed (which I agree). But he also says (from what I learned) that nothing can have a velocity faster than the speed of light despite their reference frames.

So in other words, if the objects I talked about above were travelling at v=0.9c where c is the speed of light, then their relative velocities will never be faster than the speed of light. In this case their relative velocity is 3v = 2.7 times the speed of light.

How can Einstein be right if Galilean transformation holds true?

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 10, 2010 #2

nicksauce

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

The Galilean transformation does not hold true. It is superseded by the Lorentz transformation. The velocity addition rules then change, and speeds never exceed the speed of light.

4. Jan 10, 2010 #3
    As nicksauce stated, the Galilean transformation do not hold true. They are a slow-speed (v=0, to be exact) approximation of the Lorentzian transformations.