Understanding Photon Energy: Help Needed for Chemistry Student

In summary, a student is struggling to understand a derivation involving the energy of a photon, E=hc, and the use of angular frequency, ω, instead of frequency, v. The student is seeking help to understand this concept.
Randomchemstudent
Homework Statement
w/v=c,w=vc giving E=hcv
Relevant Equations
E=hw, lamda*w=c, wavenumber (v) = 1/lamda
So I'm a chemistry student here in the UK - and I'm feeling a bit like a fish out of water on a physics forum but... I'm having trouble with a derivation that seems simple but i can't for some reason seem to understand.

I know that the energy of a photon is given by E=hc and that c=lambda*v giving E=hc/lamda. But my lecturer has used w(omega) in his derivation and i don't understand what it means and why he's used it to derive the energy in this way.

Any help would be much appreciated!

Physics news on Phys.org
##\omega## is angular frequency. It differs from frequency by a factor of ##2\pi##.

Likes Randomchemstudent
Spectroscopists often use ω for frequency, or for wavenumber. They (we) often loosely talk about wavenumber as frequency, e.g. "a frequency of 1730 cm-1". For example, on the NIST website, molecular vibrational frequencies in cm-1 are given the symbol ω. So you have to be a bit careful.

Likes PeroK
Randomchemstudent said:
Problem Statement: w/v=c,w=vc giving E=hcv
Relevant Equations: E=hw, lamda*w=c, wavenumber (v) = 1/lamda

I know that the energy of a photon is given by E=hc
No. The energy of a photon is ##hf##, which is often written as ##h \nu##, where ##f## or ##\nu## is the frequency. You seem to have your notation mixed up.

1. What is a photon?

A photon is a fundamental particle that carries energy in the form of electromagnetic radiation. It has no mass and can behave both as a particle and a wave.

2. How is photon energy related to the electromagnetic spectrum?