Uniform Rod Pendulum - Lagrangian and Equations of Motion

In summary: KEtotal = KEtranslational + KErotational= 1/2 mvc.o.m2 + 1/2 Ic.o.mω2where Ic.o.m is the moment of inertia about the centre of mass, and ω is the angular velocity
urkirsty

Homework Statement

A uniform rod AB of mass M and length 2l attatched to a slider at A which is constrained to move along a smooth horizontal wire. The rod, which is subject to gravity, is free to swing in the vertical plane containing the wire. Using Ω (the angle between rod and vertical) and x coordinate of the centre of mass, find an expression for the kinetic and potential energies, deduce Lagrange's equations. Show that the Lagrangian is regular.

The Attempt at a Solution

I've been trying to get my head around this for 2 days but I've never seen anything like it before so I just don't know what to do.

I know I have to treat the rod as a continuum, but I've never done this before so I'm not sure how to. Also the coordinate system is one I've never seen before.

Sorry it doesn't seem like I've done much but I've tried every way I know and nothing's working, any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

Physics news on Phys.org
welcome to pf!

hi urkirsty! welcome to pf! :wink:

try this part first …

urkirsty said:
Using Ω (the angle between rod and vertical) and x coordinate of the centre of mass, find an expression for the kinetic and potential energies

… what do you get? :smile:

Well I have an equation for the Kinetic energy now, I've taken the kinetic energy in relation to the centre of mass and then added the kinetic energy from the rotation with the moment of inertia.
I have (x. means x differentiated wrt t, I wasn't sure how to show it on here)

KE = 1/2[Mx.^2 + θ.^2 Ml^2 sin^2(θ) + 1/3 θ.^2 Ml^2]

and Potential energy V = -Mglcosθ (taking up to be +ve)

Sorry those equation look really messy typed up here. I'm hoping they're at least on the right lines, fingers crossed!

hi urkirsty! :smile: