I What happens when we observe an electron?

I have learned about the principles of quantum mechanics from two sources. The first is a book called quantum mechanics concepts and applications. The second is prof. Allan Addams lectures in MIT. But they have different opinions about what happens to the interference pattern of electrons when we observe them. Allan Adams says when we send light to the electron it changes its momentum and this causes the interference pattern to change slightly if we use low frequency light and greatly if we use a high frequency light. But the book doesn't think so. It says that when we send light, the interference disappears completely regardless of the frequency as if the electrons behave like bullets .what do you guys think about that?

Ok I'll have a look.

Do either of these sources give references to actual experiments?
Of course no. That's why I suspect them here and ask for help.i am a highschool student. I don't know much about physics sources. Please help me. ☺

Hi Ahmed,

I attached a screenshot of the part in the lecture about which I think you were talking.

I have also attached a screenshot of two of the pages from the book which you referenced.

Initially (and I haven't looked too deeply into it) I'm thinking that the two are saying the same thing:

that when you shine light at the incident electrons there's no longer an interference pattern on the screen.

What do you think?

Attachments

Hi Ahmed,

I attached a screenshot of the part in the lecture about which I think you were talking.

I have also attached a screenshot of two of the pages from the book which you referenced.

Initially (and I haven't looked too deeply into it) I'm thinking that the two are saying the same thing:

that when you shine light at the incident electrons there's no longer an interference pattern on the screen.

What do you think?