Why won't it work? (sump pump project)

In summary, the student's circuit does not seem to be working correctly. They are not sure why the first resistor stated gets no voltage yet other parts of the circuit do but not enough voltage goes up to the diode. They are trying to figure out why the relay does not get enough power. They need to test the circuit by putting a short across "electronics to sump" to see if the problem is with the method of sensing the water level.
Bsmith072
So I'm a college student in electromechanical engineering technology and my lab partner and I are making a sump pump circuit for our class project. I got the circuit soldered and the alarm and light work but the relay won't turn on. We discovered that the resistor that goes into our transistor which from there it goes up into the diode in parallel with the relay and into an SCR for our alarm and light, the resistor stated gets 0 volts, the resistor leading into the SCR gets 12 volts and the diode for the relay gets .9 volts. The two of us cannot figure out why the first resistor stated gets no voltage yet other parts of the circuit do but not enough voltage goes up to the diode

Engineering news on Phys.org
Bsmith072 said:
So I'm a college student in electromechanical engineering technology and my lab partner and I are making a sump pump circuit for our class project. I got the circuit soldered and the alarm and light work but the relay won't turn on. We discovered that the resistor that goes into our transistor which from there it goes up into the diode in parallel with the relay and into an SCR for our alarm and light, the resistor stated gets 0 volts, the resistor leading into the SCR gets 12 volts and the diode for the relay gets .9 volts. The two of us cannot figure out why the first resistor stated gets no voltage yet other parts of the circuit do but not enough voltage goes up to the diode