Better Equivalence Principle Explained

In summary, the Equivalence Principle states that the motion of an elevator in empty space is the same as the motion of space itself. This is not always true, as the elevator will experience tidal forces that must be accounted for.
Didymus5
I am new to relativity, so bare with me. I do not want to argue against it; however, one must admit it is a rather awesomely unwieldy theory. In my self education on the subject, I am bothered by the Equivalence Principle, mainly this:

An elevator accelerating through space is no different from an elevator at rest in a gravitational field. I understand the principle, but it bothers me, because unless relativity is applied to it, the two situations are not strictly equivalent. (An accelerometer will register a uniform gravitational force at both 'top' and 'bottom' with the first elevator, but less at the top than the bottom of the second elevator.

Only within an accelerated frame of reference will an accelerometer register any readings. We can think of this as the sensing element of the accelerometer traveling at a lesser velocity than its surroundings, or that it is traveling at the velocity that its surroundings were traveling a measurable amount of time ago. Dividing the difference by this time shows us the acceleration of the elevator.

[Remainder of post deleted, personal theory.]

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
Didymus5 said:
... An accelerometer will register a uniform gravitational force at both 'top' and 'bottom' with the first elevator, but less at the top than the bottom of the second elevator.
Yes, this is a well-known caveat on the equivalence principle

Didymus5 said:
An accelerometer will register a uniform gravitational force at both 'top' and 'bottom' with the first elevator, but less at the top than the bottom of the second elevator.
That's not necessarily true for a rigid elevator.