1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Coefficient of friction

1. Apr 16, 2010 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    A book has a mass of 400 g. When you slide the book against the floor with 5 N, it accelerated at the rate of -1.5 m/s^2. What would the coefficient of friction between the book and the floor be?

2. Relevant equations
    Ff = μFN

3. The attempt at a solution
    I am trying to learn physics on my own solely through whatever reliable resources i may stumble upon on the internet. So bear with me if my answer or my method is not correct. Anything I know about physics is self taught(trying to prepare for college)

I tried it a few different ways
    Ff = μFN
    5N=μ(.4x9.8)
    5N=μ(3.92)
    5N/3.92=μ
    1.276=μ

5N=μ(.4x-1.5)
    5N=μ(2.666[STRIKE]6[/STRIKE])
    5N/-.26666[STRIKE]6[/STRIKE]=μ
    8.75=μ (i know this cant be right)

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 16, 2010 #2

PhanthomJay

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Neither solution is correct, but the problem is not all that clear. Presumably, the book is being pushed along a horizontal floor with an applied horizontal force of 5N acting to the left. Use Newton's 2nd law to calculate the net force acting on the book in the horizontal direction. The net force consists of the applied force in one direction and the friction force in the other direction.. You must calculate the friction force, then use your relevant equation to solve for the friction coefficient. The result is a rather high value, so I'm unsure if the problem is worded correctly. Wecome to PF!

4. Apr 16, 2010 #3