Equivalent Circuits: Why Are They the Same?

In summary, Mr. Williams redrew the circuit on the right so that it is easier to see why the resistors are in parallel. He added a separate supply with the same value as Vcc just to visually separate the base circuit from the rest; hoping to make it easier to understand. If you look at the figure on the left, you would immediately recognize that the resistors are in parallel.
SuperCat

1. Homework Statement

Why are the two circuits below equivalent?
c7521dabf48d8801a085b8aa5407156f.png

Homework Equations

N/A

The Attempt at a Solution

Background:
I am studying BJTs, and in my textbook the equivalent resistance of resistor 1 and 2 is noted to be in parallel. The text provides no explanation why. In my search for an explanation I stumbled upon a video from David Williams (https://goo.gl/VCCuCy) where he redraws the circuit on the left. Once it is in the form on the right I can identify why the resistors are in parallel, but I do not understand how Mr. Williams redrew the circuit.
I would greatly appreciate if someone could walk me through their thought process. For now I can simply remember to do that transformation, but I want to understand the fundamentals so I can apply that technique to different circuits.
If my usage of the terms transformation and equivalent are incorrect for this case please let me know.

Physics news on Phys.org
Since R1 is connected to Vcc, he took advantage of the fact that R1 doesn't care where it gets its voltage from as long as it is the same value as the original voltage. He added a separate supply with the same value as Vcc just to visually separate the base circuit from the rest; hoping to make it easier to understand.

Have a look at:
http://www.facstaff.bucknell.edu/mastascu/elessonsHTML/Source/Source2.html

Or Google:
https://www.google.com/?gws_rd=ssl#q=thevenin+equivalent+circuit

Likes SuperCat
Tom.G said:
Have a look at: