Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Fermi Energy and Electrons

1. Apr 4, 2010 #1
    Hello,

Im just an amateur physicsist and was interested in Fermi Energy.
    Found a page http://http://hyperphysics.phy-astr.gsu.edu/hbase/solids/fermi2.html#c1" [Broken], that helped.

However, I found the page and site a bit hard to understand in some places.
    Could someone please explain to me about Fermi Energy/Level and what the 'electron density of states' are?

Thanks in advance,
    Ben

Last edited by a moderator: May 4, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Apr 4, 2010 #2

phyzguy

Science Advisor

Because of the Pauli exclusion principle, no two electrons can occupy the same state. The density of states basically tells you how many states exist at a given energy - more precisely the density of states f(E) dE tells you how many states there are for electrons to occupy between the energy of E and E+dE. Normally, like in a metal or a semiconductor, all of the lower energy states are full, so if you add an electron you can't put it into the lowest energy state (referred to as the ground state), you have to add it to the lowest energy state which is not already filled. This state is roughly at the Fermi energy. So the Fermi energy tells you how much energy it takes to add an electron.

Are you just satisfying intellectual curiosity, or do you have a specific application in mind?

4. May 1, 2011 #3
    Hey Phyzguy, that is a very simpe and clear explanation of the Density of States and the Fermi Energy. I have got a question that popped in my mind after seeing this reply.

Would you please explain the difference between 'density of states of electrons' and the 'density of electrons' of a semiconductor?

5. May 1, 2011 #4

phyzguy

Science Advisor